JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Have a question?

We have answers!
Chat Monday-Friday, 8 AM - 5 PM (except MS state holidays)
Phone: 601-432-4492 or Toll free: 1-877-KWIK-REF (1-877-594-5733)
Text: 601-208-0868

Friday, June 10, 2011

Mississippi Library Commission Awards 2012 Federal Grants

Jackson, MS—The Mississippi Library Commission (MLC) Board of Commissioners has approved 24 grants totaling more than $345,000. The federal funds, awarded to 14 public library systems, will support projects ranging from technology, to public library programming, to library development, to public library scholarships. The funding was made possible under the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) through the federal Institute of Museums and Library Services.

Libraries receiving grants include Mid-Mississippi Regional Library System, Central Mississippi Regional Library System, Dixie Regional Library System, Union County Library System, Columbus-Lowndes County Library System, Laurel-Jones County Library System, Harriette Person Memorial Library (Claiborne County), Lincoln-Lawrence-Franklin Regional Library System, South Mississippi Regional Library, Warren County-Vicksburg Public Library, Hancock County Library System, Sunflower County Library System, Lamar County Library System and Golden Triangle Regional Library Consortium/Tombigbee Regional Library.

“Public libraries are critical to education, economic development, and quality of life in Mississippi communities. These grant projects allow public libraries to better serve local residents. Federal LSTA funds enhance library services for all Mississippians”, said Library Commission Executive Director Sharman B. Smith.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...